Rest in Peace

Michael Francis Garde

July 27, 1965 – October 6, 1981

I met Mike in 7th grade homeroom at the Bunnell School in East Stroudsburg, PA in the fall of 1978. One day Mike showed me this drawing that he did of Gene Simmons of KISS. He gave me the drawing and at that moment I knew in my heart that I wanted to spend the rest of my life drawing. In the fall of 1980 Mike was taken to the hospital because he was having stomach pains. He was diagnosed with Leukemia and died a year later. Mike was one of the Cool Kids but he accepted me and we bonded over our love of comic books, drawing superheroes, and the music of the rock band, KISS. I miss you, Mike.

IMG_0084.JPG

Leave a Reply

